Gluten FAQ

What is Gluten ?

Gluten is a protein found in many forms of glass-related grains including wheat, rye and barley.

Which products contain Gluten ?

Gluten is found in many products and those with allergies should avoid both eating and being in contact with Gluten as it can be absorbed via the skin.

There are many of the more obvious products containing wheat such as breads, pastries and cakes. but it is also a stabilising agent which can be used in many less obvious products such as some ice creams, ketchup, sauces and gravies. Many cosmetic products including lipsticks and lotions will also contain gluten.

How do I know if a product contains Gluten ?

In the UK a new legislation came into effect in January 2012 which goes some way to assisting you when choosing food, but it’s not quite perfect.

  • Food may be labelled as Gluten Free if it contains no gluten or harmless trace amounts (20ppm or less)
  • Food may be labelled as Very Low Gluten if it contains a little gluten (100ppm or less) this is suitable for most gluten intolerant people, but should be avoided by coeliacs
  • Foods must list all gluten containing ingredients on the product packaging, including the specific grain used (Wheat, Rye, Barley, Oats, Spelt, Karmut or any other grain which has been made through breeding these together)
  • There is no law to say the product has to specifically say “Contains Gluten”

Where can I get more information ?

The Food Standards Agency has an article specific to Gluten Regulations


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *